Evening of Tribute: The Beacon Awards 

November 15, 2022

We are excited to announce Evening of Tribute 2022 will happen on Tuesday, November 15 at 6:30pm.

The event is free and includes a reception with appetizers and desserts.

Dress code is business formal.

Hosted at Grace Community Fellowship

989 Country Club Rd

Eugene, OR 97401


Thank you for joining us in honoring our award recipients and preparing future Beacons through support of the Beacon Fund for Student Scholarships.

Call 541-684-7318 or email advancement@bushnell.edu with questions or if you’d like to register over the phone or via email.

Evening of Tribute Sponsors

Thank you to our 2022 Center for Leadership and Ethics, Evening of Tribute, and event sponsors whose generosity directly supports the Bushnell University student scholarship fund.

2022 Award Recipients

Northwest Community Credit Union:
NWCU has served our community since 1949 as a not-for-profit financial cooperative dedicated to the well-being of its members and their financial futures. Starting as a service to the timber industry, NWCU has grown to over 100,000 members and has a proven commitment to education in the region.


Trace Skopil:
A longtime member of the Eugene community, Trace spent most of his long career as a senior partner at Moss Adams, LLC CPA firm as an accountant. Most recently, Trace served as the chief financial officer for the World Athletic Championships Oregon22, helping to bring the world to Eugene. His reputation for humility, integrity, professionalism, and leadership is recognized by all who have the privilege of working with him.


Gabe Piechowicz ’19: Distinguished Young Alumni Award
A former logger, Gabe returned to Bushnell in midlife and followed a call into ministry serving the homeless community in Lane County. He has championed collaboration and partnership as he has built a multi-faceted ministry to change the narrative of homelessness and provide opportunities for meaningful, systemic change.


2022 Presenting Sponsor

Past Exemplary Ethical Leader Award Winners

Outstanding Business

2022 Northwest Community Credit Union

2021 C.W. Walker & Associates
2020 Seneca
2019 Forrest Technical Coatings
2018 Rexius
2017 GloryBee
2016 Market of Choice
2015 Industrial Finishes & Systems
2014 Bi-Mart Corporation
2013 Eugene Area Chamber of Commerce
2012 Isler CPA
2011 Jerry’s Home Improvement Center
2010 Pacific Continental Bank

Outstanding Individual:

2022 Trace Skopil

2021 Sheryl Balthrop
2021 Ben Cross
2020 Ken Brown
2019 John Alvord
2018 Joe & Cathleen Karcher
2017 Phil Speers
2016 Dr. Ada O.L. Lee
2015 Steve & Sally Lee
2014 Sid Voorhees
2013 Jim Wildish
2012 Linda McKay Korth
2011 Scott Williams
2010 Sister Monica Heeran

Outstanding Non-Profit:

2019 One Hope Lane County
2018 Relief Nursery
2017 Eugene Mission
2016 Holt International

Special Recognition Award:

2011 Britni (Steiling) D’Eliso ‘11

Distinguished Alumni Award:

2022 Gabe Piechowicz ’19

2020 Rory Robison ‘96

2022 Center for Leadership and Ethics and Event Sponsors:


Moss Adams logo












Edward Jones


McKenzie-Willamette Medical Center






Pivot architecture logo




Northwest Natural