Testing Requirements

Education students are required to pass several tests mandated by the state of Oregon for teacher licensure.

Civil Rights

To hold a teaching license, Oregon educators are required by statute to demonstrate knowledge of civil rights laws and laws prohibiting discrimination. In accordance with ORS 342.123 (1), pre-service teachers must pass all components of the Civil Rights in the Educational Setting learning modules. All modules must be successfully passed prior to starting any field experience, or by the second week of fall semester, whichever comes first. A passing score of 100% is required.

Details pertaining to the test-taking process will be provided to students at the beginning of each Fall semester.

Content Knowledge Exams

The NES educator licensure tests provide Oregon with comprehensive exams aligned to professionally accepted national learning standards. These tests must be passed before being recommended for licensure. We encourage students to take each subtest as close to completion to applicable methods courses as possible. Here’s a link to the National Evaluation Series (NES) site: https://www.nestest.com/

Elementary Endorsement

Elementary Education Subtests I and II; both exams must be passed.

Secondary Endorsement: Content area exam(s)

Content Area Exams are customized, computer-based tests designed to measure a candidate’s knowledge and skills in relation to Oregon learning standards in specific subject areas.

  • Content area exams are required for secondary education students and/or ESOL/PE/SPED/Reading Interventionalist endorsement-seeking students.
  • Students must take and pass the Content Area Exam for each endorsement area in which you wish to be licensed.